

DESIGN REVIEW COMMITTEE MINUTES January 10, 2019

PRESENT: Colin Duggan, Vice Chair

Gregory MacNeil
Tara Ralph
Rob LeBlanc
Kautilya Gandhi
Catherine Courtney
Jonathan Lampier

Rick Buhr

Edward Farquhar

REGRETS: Matt Neville, Chair

Malcolm Pinto Marianne Abboud

OTHERS PRESENT: Steven Addison, Harvey Architecture

Laura Masching, ARMCO Capital

STAFF: Carl Purvis, Major Projects Planner, Planning & Development

Hannah Forsyth, Legislative Support, Office of the Municipal Clerk

The following does not represent a verbatim record of the proceedings of this meeting.

The agenda, supporting documents, and information items circulated to the Committee are available online at Halifax.ca

The meeting was called to order at 4:32 p.m. and the Committee adjourned at 5:06 p.m.

1. CALL TO ORDER

The Chair called the meeting to order at 4:32 p.m. at Halifax Hall, 2nd Floor City Hall, 1841 Argyle Street, Halifax.

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES - December 13, 2018

MOVED by Gregory MacNeil, seconded by Kautilya Gandhi

THAT the minutes of December 13, 2018 be approved as presented

MOTION PUT AND PASSED.

3. APPROVAL OF THE ORDER OF BUSINESS AND APPROVAL OF ADDITIONS AND DELETIONS

MOVED by Gregory MacNeil, seconded by Rick Buhr

THAT the agenda be approved as presented

MOTION PUT AND PASSED.

- 4. BUSINESS ARISING OUT OF THE MINUTES NONE
- 5. CALL FOR DECLARATION OF CONFLICT OF INTERESTS NONE

6. CONSIDERATION OF DEFERRED BUSINESS

6.1 Election of Chair and Vice Chair

The Vice Chair turned the meeting over to the Legislative Support.

The Legislative Support called for nominations for the position of Chair of the Design Review Committee.

MOVED by Ted Farguhar, seconded by Gregory MacNeil

THAT Colin Duggan be nominated Chair of the Design Review Committee.

MOTION PUT AND PASSED.

The Legislative Support called three times for any further nominations.

The Legislative Support declared Colin Duggan Chair of the Design Review Committee.

The Chair then called for nominations for the position of Vice Chair of the Design Review Committee.

MOVED by Colin Dugan, seconded by Tara Ralph

THAT Matt Neville be nominated Vice Chair of the Design Review Committee.

MOTION PUT AND PASSED.

The Chair called three times for any further nominations.

The Chair declared Matt Neville the Vice Chair of the Design Review Committee.

- 7. CORRESPONDENCE, PETITIONS & DELEGATIONS NONE
- 8. INFORMATION ITEMS BROUGHT FORWARD NONE
- 9. REPORTS/DISCUSSION NONE
- 10. PRELIMINARY PRESENTATIONS
- 10.1 ARMCO Capital 1800 Argyle Street Redevelopment (World Trade and Convention Centre)

Steven Addison, from Harvey Architecture, presented an overview of the proposed project. Addison described the context of the site and highlighted the additional commercial space and extending the second level floor to meet the property line.

The committee asked for the location of the primary entrance to the building and whether there would be canopies on the Argyle Street side for the commercial spaces. Addison stated that the primary entrance is the Argyle Street entrance and that canopies or weather protection will be installed. The committee asked if an additional traffic assessment will be requested and staff said that it will be requested when the application is finalized. Finally, the committee asked if the heritage aspects of the building were considered when selecting the materials. Addison stated that the intention is to keep the materials consistent with the existing design.

The committee discussed softening materials to balance the amount of granite curtain wall. An intensive roof system was discussed. The committee highlighted the benefits of water mitigation through raised planter boxes with water systems and a liveable green space. The committee also noted the potential for businesses to have wooden patios and decks on the Argyle Street side to further soften the streetscape.

- 11. ADDED ITEMS
- 12. IN CAMERA (IN PRIVATE) NONE
- **13. DATE OF NEXT MEETING** February 14, 2019 Halifax Hall, 2nd Floor City Hall, 1841 Argyle Street, Halifax.
- 14. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 5:06 p.m.

Hannah Forsyth Legislative Support