## **OFFICIAL**

SWEARING - IN CEREMONY

FOR

MAYOR - ELECT MIKE SAVAGE

**AND** 

MEMBERS OF HALIFAX REGIONAL COUNCIL
OCTOBER 29, 2020

October 29, 2020 at 6:00 p.m. marked the official Swearing-In ceremony of the Halifax Regional Council at Halifax Convention Centre Ballroom, as a result of the regular election held on October 17, 2020.

Cheryl Copage-Gehue, HRM Indigenous Engagement Advisor gave the Land Acknowledgement.

Following the official procession, the meeting was called to order by Jacques Dubé, Chief Administrative Officer with the reading of the Invocation. Dubé welcomed family, friends and members of the public attending and announced the singing of the Honour Song and O Canada.

Dubé introduced the Honorable Associate Chief Justice Patrick J. Duncan, Associate Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Nova Scotia present to officiate. Sherryll Murphy, Returning Officer, declared the election results and the official Swearing In ceremony commenced.

Members of Halifax Regional Council sworn in by Associate Chief Justice Patrick J. Duncan were:

## Mayor

Mike Savage

## Councillors

| District 1  | Waverley - Fall River - Musquodoboit Valley       | Cathy          |
|-------------|---|----------------|
|             |   | Deagle Gammon  |
| District 2  | Preston – Chezzetcook– Eastern Shore              | David Hendsbee |
| District 3  | Dartmouth South – Eastern Passage                 | Becky Kent     |
| District 4  | Cole Harbour – Westphal                           | Trish Purdy    |
| District 5  | Dartmouth Centre                                  | Sam Austin     |
| District 6  | Harbourview – Burnside – Dartmouth East           | Tony Mancini   |
| District 7  | Halifax South Downtown                            | Waye Mason     |
| District 8  | Halifax Peninsula North                           | Lindell Smith  |
| District 9  | Halifax West Armdale                              | Shawn Cleary   |
| District 10 | Halifax – Bedford Basin West                      | Kathryn Morse  |
| District 12 | Timberlea – Beechville – Clayton Park – Wedgewood | Iona Stoddard  |
| District 13 | Hammonds Plains – St. Margarets                   | Pam Lovelace   |
| District 14 | Middle/Upper Sackville – Beaver Bank - Lucasville | Lisa Blackburn |
| District 15 | Lower Sackville                                   | Paul Russell   |
| District 16 | Bedford – Wentworth                               | Tim Outhit     |

Due to an outstanding application for a Judicial Recount, the Councillor Elect for District 11 will be sworn in at a later date.

3

Following remarks by Mayor Savage and Dubé, and singing of God Save the Queen, the meeting adjourned at 7:20 p.m.

Phoebe Rai A/Municipal Clerk