Police Diversity Working Group

The Police Diversity Working Group (PDWG) was established as a working group of Halifax Regional Police and the Halifax District Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP). The PDWG consists of various community members representing several diverse communities. Through direct feedback and engagement, this committee serves as an important sounding board and advisor for Halifax Regional Police, Halifax District RCMP and the Halifax Board of Police Commissioners on matters related to diversity and community relationships.

More detail about the board’s role can be found in the Terms of Reference (PDF).

Police Diversity Working Group Members

Debbie Eisan, Chair (elected), Mi'kmaw Native Friendship Centre

Brad Rowe, Vice-Chair (elected), Healthy Minds Cooperative

Imam Mohamed Yaffa

George Samara, Canadian Lebanon Society of Halifax 

Kate Shewan, Youth Project         

Wenche Gausdal, Immigrant Services Association of Nova Scotia (ISANS)

Lisa Michaud

Rev Dr. L. Anderson 

Jordon Horne, Youth Representative 

Commissioner Carlos Beals, Board of Police Commissioners 

Amy Siciliano, Public Safety Advisor, Halifax Regional Municipality

Tracey Jones-Grant, Diversity Manager, Halifax Regional Municipality

Chief Daniel J. Kinsella, Halifax Regional Police

Chief Superintendent Janis Gray, Halifax District RCMP

Cpl. Adam Jackson, Diversity Policing Coordinator, "H" Division RCMP

Cst. Craig Upshaw, Equity and Diversity Officer, Halifax Regional Police

Minutes and agendas

Minutes are available once approved. All documents are in PDF format.

Date Agenda Minutes Presentations
Date Agenda Minutes Presentations
10-Apr-19 Agenda Pending approvals
16-Jan-19 Agenda Minutes
18-Oct-29 Agenda Minutes Body worn video update & Street checks research
18-Apr-18 Agenda Minutes
10-Jan-18 Agenda
01-Nov-17 Agenda Minutes
21-Sep-17 Agenda Minutes