

Bringing youth voices to Regional Council

Municipal Youth Advisory Committee

IT'S YOUR TURN!

The Youth Advisory Committee (YAC) is a new advisory committee to the Executive Standing Committee of Regional Council. There are 12 seats to be filled for the 2018-19 year, six of which are designated for people who identify with one or more of the designated communities.

ARE YOU ELIGIBLE?

- Between 15-24 years of age
- Resident of the municipality
- Able to write, speak and have a good understanding of the English language
- Can commit to one full term that runs from September – May

CHECK FOR OPPORTUNITIES

Committee vacancies, municipal contacts and other relevant details are posted on halifax.ca/YAC.

COMPLETE AND SEND YOUR APPLICATION

- Complete and submit application form; an online version can be found at halifax.ca/YAC
- If you need more information about the application process you can e-mail clerks@halifax.ca or the Community Developer for Youth at reddica@halifax.ca

STEP 1

STEP 2

STEP 3

THE REGIONAL COUNCIL **SELECTION PROCESS**

Your application will be reviewed and presented confidentially to the Executive Standing Committee and Regional Council. The selection process may involve an interview with relevant municipal staff and members of Regional Council. This process may take several months to complete.

STEP 4

#HFXYAC

READY TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE

Take Your Space in the Place and Get Ready to Make a Difference!

You will be contacted once the selected YAC members have been appointed. Municipal staff will be in touch with the appointees with information about orientation sessions, required training, and other necessary administrative items.

STEP 5

The municipality has designated at least 1 YAC seat for a youth from each of the following communities: Persons with Disabilities, Mi'kmaq, African Nova Scotian, Francophone/ Acadian community, Newcomer and LGBTQ2S. In addition, up to two youth from each Community Council area are designated a seat. The 12 seats total. will reflect a combination of these specifics.











Mayor

Halifax Regional Municipality Mayor Mike Savage

902.490.4010 mayor@halifax.ca

District 1

Waverley - Fall River - Musquodoboit Valley Councillor Steve Streatch 902.579.6738 Steve.Streatch@halifax.ca

District 2

Preston - Chezzetcook - Eastern Shore Councillor David Hendsbee David.Hendsbee@halifax.ca 902.483.0705

District 3

Dartmouth South - Eastern Passage Councillor Bill Karsten 902.476.1855 Bill.Karsten@halifax.ca

District 4

Cole Harbour - Westphal Councillor Lorelei Nicoll 902.478.2705 Lorelei.Nicoll@halifax.ca

District 5

Dartmouth Centre Councillor Sam Austin 902.579.6814 Sam.Austin@halifax.ca

District 6

Harbourview.Burnside - Dartmouth East Councillor Tony Mancini Tony.Mancini@halifax.ca 902.292.4823

District 7

Peninsula South - Downtown Deputy Mayor Waye Mason 902.430.7822 Waye.Mason@halifax.ca

District 8

Peninsula North Councillor Lindell Smith Lindell.Smith@halifax.ca 902.579.6975

Regional Council

District 9

Armdale - Peninsula West Councillor Shawn Cleary 902.579.6746 Shawn.Cleary@halifax.ca

District 10

Halifax - Bedford Basin West Councillor Russell Walker Russell.Walker@halifax.ca 902.497.7215

District 11

Spryfield - Sambro Loop - Prospect Road Councillor Steve Adams Steve.Adams@halifax.ca 902.497.8818

District 12

Timberlea - Beechville - Clayton Park West Councillor Richard Zurawski 902.579.7453 Richard.Zurawski@halifax.ca

District 13

Hammonds Plains - St. Margaret's Councillor Matt Whitman 902.240.3330 Matt.Whitman@halifax.ca

District 14

Middle & Upper Sackville - Lucasville Councillor Lisa Blackburn Lisa.Blackburn@halifax.ca 902.579.7164

District 15

Lower Sackville Councillor Steve Craig 902.240.0441 Steve.Craig@halifax.ca

District 16

Bedford - Wentworth Councillor Tim Outhit Tim.Outhit@halifax.ca 902.229.6385







