ΗΛΙΓΛΧ

ACTIVE TRANSPORTATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE MINUTES January 19, 2023

PRESENT:	Hugh Millward, Chair
	Douglas Wetmore, Vice Chair
	Councillor Patty Cuttell
	Anika Riopel
	Myles McCormick
	Holly Woodill
	Andrew Taylor
	Milena Khazanavicius
	Elizabeth Pugh
	Peter Zimmer
	Brittney MacLean
	Paul Young

STAFF: David MacIsaac, Manager, Active Transportation Krista Vining, Acting Deputy Clerk Elizabeth Macdonald, Legislative Assistant

The following does not represent a verbatim record of the proceedings of this meeting.

The agenda, reports, supporting documents, and information items circulated are online at halifax.ca.

The meeting was called to order at 4:40 p.m. The Committee adjourned at 6:30 p.m.

1. CALL TO ORDER AND LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

The Vice Chair called the meeting to order at 4:40 p.m. and acknowledged that the meeting took place in the traditional and ancestral territory of the Mi'kmaq people, and that we are all treaty people.

1.1 Election of Chair

Krista Vining, Acting Deputy Clerk called for nominations for the position of Chair of the Active Transportation Committee.

MOVED by Melina Khazanavicius, seconded by Myles McCormick

THAT Hugh Millward be nominated for Chair of the Active Transportation Advisory Committee.

Vining called three times for further nominations.

Hugh Millward was declared Chair of the Active Transportation Committee.

1.2 Election of Vice Chair

Krista Vining, Acting Deputy Clerk called for nominations for the position of Vice Chair of the Active Transportation Advisory Committee.

MOVED by Melina Khazanavicius, seconded by Peter Zimmer

THAT Douglas Wetmore be nominated Vice Chair of the Active Transportation Advisory Committee.

Douglas Wetmore accepted the nomination.

Vining called three times for further nominations.

Douglas Wetmore was declared Vice Chair of the Active Transportation Advisory Committee.

In the absence of Hugh Millward, Douglas Wetmore assumed the Chair.

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES – November 17, 2022

MOVED by Andrew Taylor, seconded by Holly Woodill

THAT the minutes of November 17, 2022, be approved as circulated.

MOTION PUT AND PASSED.

3. APPROVAL OF THE ORDER OF BUSINESS AND APPROVAL OF ADDITIONS AND DELETIONS

Additions: None

Deletions: None

MOVED by Andrew Taylor, seconded by Peter Zimmer

THAT the agenda be approved as presented.

MOTION PUT AND PASSED.

Later in the meeting, as provided for in section 37 (1) of Administrative Order One, Respecting the Procedures of the Council, the Committee agreed to consider Item 7 Correspondence, Petitions and Delegations prior to item 6.1.

4. BUSINESS ARISING OUT OF THE MINUTES - NONE

5. CALL FOR DECLARATION OF CONFLICT OF INTERESTS - NONE

6. CONSIDERATION OF DEFERRED BUSINESS

6.1 Discussion on Active Transport Issues Surrounding E-Scooters and E-Bikes – Hugh Millward

The following was before the Committee:

• Presentation dated November 17, 2022

Hugh Millward stepped down from the Chair and Douglas Wetmore assumed the Chair.

Millward requested that discussion on the matter be deferred to a future meeting.

MOVED by Peter Zimmer, seconded by Douglas Wetmore

THAT discussion of Item 6.1 Discussion on Active Transport Issues Surrounding E-Scooters and E-Bikes be deferred to a future meeting.

David MacIsaac, Manager, Active Transportation responded to questions of clarification from the Committee. MacIsaac noted that a staff report was being prepared for Regional Council respecting micro-mobility.

Millward asked that consideration be given to:

- 20 km/h maximum speed for e-scooters and e-bikes on bike lanes;
- 15 km/h speed limit on Multi-User Paths, for all micro-mobility modes;
- E-scooter and e-bike rentals to be returned to designated docking areas;
- One-way bike lanes to be a minimum 2.5 metres wide, and bi-directional lanes 3.5 metres wide; and
- Helmet and bell/horn to be required on e-scooters, e-bikes, and standard bikes, as per the Motor Vehicles Act.

MacIsaac noted that staff could take those considerations away.

With the agreement of the mover and the seconder, the **MOTION TO DEFER WAS WITHDRAWN.**

Millward resumed as Chair.

7. CORRESPONDENCE, PETITIONS & DELEGATIONS 7.1 Correspondence – None 7.2 Petitions – None

7.3 Presentation 7.3.1 Shared E-Scooter Industry in Canada – Chris Schafer

The following was before the Committee:

- Request to present dated January 11, 2023
- Presentation dated January 19, 2023

Chris Schafer gave a presentation and responded to questions of clarification from the Committee.

Hugh Millward entered the meeting during the presentation and assumed the Chair.

8. INFORMATION ITEMS BROUGHT FORWARD - NONE

9. REPORTS/DISCUSSION

9.1 STAFF

9.1.1 Grahams Grove, Penhorn, Westphal & Main AT Connections Project – *Megan Backos, Active Transportation Planner*

The following was before the Committee:

• Staff presentation dated January 19, 2023

Megan Backos, Active Transportation Planner and Kevin Cooper, Planner at UPLAND Planning + Design gave a presentation and responded to questions of clarification from the Committee.

9.1.2 Staff Update on Projects and Plans – David MacIsaac, Manager, Active Transportation

David MacIsaac, Manager, Active Transportation spoke to the 2023/24 Multi-Year Capital Plan, noting Regional Council was considering a budget increase of \$3 million to fund the sidewalk program.

10. ADDED ITEMS – NONE

11. DATE OF NEXT MEETING - February 16, 2023

12. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 6:30 p.m.

Elizabeth Macdonald Legislative Assistant