National Indigenous History Month

Among the various visual elements illustrating Indigenous cultures, the sun (the summer solstice) is at the center which is at the heart of the festivities. The First Nations, Inuit and Métis as well as the four elements of nature (earth, water, fire and air) are represented. The whole visual is supported by a multicolored smoke reminding us of Indigenous spirituality but also the colors of the rainbow - symbol of inclusion and diversity.

June is National Indigenous History Month, a time to celebrate the history, heritage and cultures of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples across Canada. It is also an opportunity to recognize the strength and resilience of present-day Indigenous communities. First established in 1996, this year marks the 28th anniversary of National Indigenous Peoples Day, recognized annually on June 21, the summer solstice, a historically significant date to many Indigenous peoples.

We encourage you to take this opportunity to share in and learn about the rich culture, traditions, and contributions of the diverse Indigenous people that have shaped our country and our region.

About National Indigenous History Month and National Indigenous Peoples Day

In 2009, the House of Commons unanimously passed a motion designating June as National Aboriginal History Month. In 2017 the name was changed to National Indigenous History Month.

National Aboriginal Day was announced in 1996 by then Governor General of Canada, Roméo LeBlanc, through the Proclamation Declaring June 21 of Each Year as National Aboriginal Day. This was the result of consultations and statements of support for such a day made by various Indigenous groups. It was renamed National Indigenous Peoples Day by the Prime Minister in 2017.

Learn more about the imagery used in the official National Indigenous History Month visuals online.